Maxwell Driving School

Memphis Area Driving School


Recent FAQs



Will my child actually be driving six hours "Behind the Wheel" with Maxwell Motorsports & Driving School?

Yes, your child will receive six hours of behind the wheel driving with our instructors. All driving schools are required by law to document these hours of driving. Unlike the other schools we also require an additional 4 hours of observation time. This observation time with a certified driving instructor allows the student to see many more different driving situations on the road that they may not have encountered when they were driving. The instructor can inform the student as to how to handle these situations and the student gets a more comprehensive driving experience.

Why should I send my child to a driver training class?

The leading cause of death for teenagers is not drugs, its not guns or violence.  Its car crashes.  A classroom of school aged children die every single day in car crashes.  Last year in Tennessee 200 teenagers died in car crashes.  You want to give your child the best chance of not getting involved in a deadly crash.  Our course will give them that chance.

Do you need a permit to come to the school?

No you do not.  Your child can come to our school and take the State Written Test if they are between 15 and 18 years of age.

Can you give the state written test?

Yes we can.  We have met strict guidelines and The State of Tennessee Department of Safety has licensed us as a Cooperative Driver Testing Program Agency.

Can you give the state road test?

Yes we can.  We have met strict guidelines and The State of Tennessee Department of Safety has licensed us as a Cooperative Driver Testing Program Agency.  The student needs to be 16 years old and have held their learner’s permit for 6 months to qualify for the waiver for the road test.

Is the driving done during the week of the class in the summer time?

No. The driving will be scheduled after the class. It would be difficult if not impossible to go to class from 10:00am to 5:00pm and then try and drive for 8 hours to 10 hours.

Why do you charge more than the other driving schools?

We are the only driving school in Shelby County that has a full-time office and a classroom that is dedicated for driving classes only. We have full-time staff to answer the phones and answer any questions that you may have.   We have new software specifically designed for scheduling our students none of the other schools have this.  Call any of the other driving schools and see if you can come by their offices to fill out paperwork and you will find out they don’t have an office.

As far as sparing no expense asks the other driving schools how much have they invested in equipment and facilities to train drivers?  We think you will be surprised at how much they spare no expense.

We have just purchased two SKIDCAR training cars at a cost of $80,000.00 each.  We are the only private driving school in the south to have SKIDCARS.

We also own our own classroom equipment such as projector TV’s and overhead projectors.  All the other driving schools do not offer any classroom or borrow a classroom that is used for other purposes.

Our cars are used just for driver training and nothing else.  We do not use them for personal transportation.  

We also have invested in five driving simulators that cost over $20,000.00 a piece.  We also have a device that we designed and built to simulate a 7 MPH frontal car crash this Car Crash Simulator cost over $25,000.00 to design and build.  We are the only driving school that has one.

We also have invested in DUI equipment.  Each student performs a field sobriety test and we then put glasses on him or her to simulate being drunk at the .04 level and then they perform the field sobriety test again.  Most schools even if they do this stop here.  We go farther with it.  We have them drive a golf cart through a cone course then we have them drive the cone course again with the goggles on showing them how their driving ability goes down rapidly.

We are also the only driving school that detonates an airbag for each class to show the student how powerful the airbag is.

As you can see we do more than any of the other driving schools.  Just ask them what they do and how much equipment they have invested to train their students.

Why do you use driving simulators?

First of all these are not like the simulators that the school system uses.  We strive to give the student the most comprehensive driver training.   We would be glad to send you a brochure on the S-2300 simulator.  As far as this being a substitute for driving these are the state of the art driving simulators. The United States Armed services train their pilots and tank crews on simulators.  In addition Federal Express trains all their pilots on simulators.  It allows us to put the student in situations that they may not ever get into and it also develops muscle memory, which is vital in an emergency situation.  For the novice driver the transition to driving on the street is less stressful and they get more out of the street driving instruction.  People react the way they are trained in an emergency situation.  Driving is a building block process and the use of the S-2300 driving simulator is part of the building block process that allows us to make the student a safer driver.     

The S-2300 offers a strong structural steel frame and support base, as well as actual automotive steering column and components, which are engineered to be robust and reliable, even under strenuous use.  Our S-2300 system offers fully textured, high resolution, 3-dimensional graphics producing life-like images.  It offers complex, unpredictable, multi-car traffic interaction, which exposes operators to the rigors of driving on challenging modern roadways.  The S-2300 incorporates realistic vehicle dynamics, which are designed to ensure the simulator’s acceleration; braking and handling characteristics accurately mimic those of a real car.

Comprehensive training and fully accredited curriculum specially designed to assist students in learning "how to drive" is offered with the S-2300.  It offers over 30 different lessons with over 240 driving scenarios and virtually unlimited "free driving."  The S-2300 has been designed and produced to cover everything from pre-drive checks, how to operate a manual transmission, rules of the road, scanning principles and defensive driving techniques to avoid collisions, identify hazards, drive in adverse and impaired conditions.  We can also check the medical conditions of individuals that have had strokes or brain injuries.

Do you provide transportation to class?

No we do not.  You will need to come to our training facilities located at the Agricenter International.

Why two students to a car?

This is for safety reasons.  We do not feel it is appropriate for an instructor to be in a car alone with a 15 to 19 year old.  If the other student does not show up then we require a parent to ride with us.

Why do we have to provide social security numbers?

It’s federal law.  U.S. Code Title 42, Section 666, Paragraph 13, enacted in 1996, requires social security numbers to be recorded for "any applicant for a professional license, driver’s license, occupational license, recreational license or marriage license."

If I miss one day of class do I have to make it up?

Yes please get with us and we can reschedule the class time.

How long do you have to hold a learner's permit to take the road test?

The student has to hold the learner’s permit for six months and be 16 years old to be able to move up to the Restricted License.

What are the qualifications of your instructors?

All of our instructors are certified by the Tennessee Department of Safety as per state law.  Several of our Instructors are also certified Instructors from the National Safety Council.  In addition many of our instructors are fireman and police officers and teachers.

Do you still drive when my child is scheduled for a driving lesson during bad weather?

Unless it is extremely bad weather we will continue as scheduled.  It is better for the student to experience different weather conditions with a trained instructor rather than having to experience it on their own the first time.

Why is there a charge when I don't show up for a driving lesson?

We still pay our instructors for the lesson.  We book our lessons in advance and reserve time with the instructor for you or your child.  When you do not show up it causes the instructor to lose hours and often have an empty gap in their schedule.  It is not fair for the other student who showed up to cancel the lesson because the other student did not feel it was important enough to show up or they just forgot. We also have to take the time to reschedule the student again and we have to pay the instructor again for driving lessons that should already be completed.

Why is there a charge when I cancel a driving lesson?

Often times when you cancel with 5 or more days notice we waive the rescheduling fee entirely.  We do not want to have to charge you for cancelling a driving lesson; we just want proper notice ahead of time so we can fill the gap.  

The more advanced notice you give when cancelling the less likely you will be charged.

Please, if you need to reschedule a driving lesson don’t hesitate.  No matter how short of notice it is, it’s always better to call and let us know rather than just not show up to a scheduled driving lesson.

Why do you not schedule driving times over the phone?

We try not to make it difficult for our clients.  We have found over the 19 years that Maxwell Motorsports & Driving Schools been in business that fewer mistakes are made during scheduling if the parent is in our office.  We strive to not make any mistakes but we noticed that a lot of scheduling errors were made when we scheduled over the phone and invariable we disappointed someone when we booked to many students for a driving time. It also allows us to meet you and you can see our facilities.

Why must the parent(s) come into schedule my child's driving times? Can't I just have them schedule the driving times?

We prefer the parent come in and schedule the driving times.  We have found that the parents know their schedule as well as their child’s schedule and this reduces the number of scheduling errors and the need to re-schedule driving times.  We now have scheduling software on our computers that is tailored just for Maxwell Motorsports & Driving School.  This new software has also allowed us to reduce scheduling errors.  And once again it allows us to meet you and answer any questions that you may have.  We want you and your child to have a positive experience while at the Maxwell Motorsports & Driving School.

Do you offer other types of driver training programs?

Yes, we do.  Please check the main menu of this website.

We are interested in your driving school for our 14 year-old son. However, we are residents of DeSoto Co., Mississippi. Is he eligible to take the course?

Yes, he can take the course.  We cannot give the state test or the road test.  We are not certified by the state of Mississippi.  We can issue the Certificate of Graduation so that you can receive a discount on your child’s insurance, if your insurance company allows it.

Do you provide stick-shift or manual transmission driving instruction? I ask because I am very interested in the Mini Cooper and while I understand they come in automatic. I want to drive it as it was originally intended: as a stick shift!

We can teach stick shift on our driving simulators.  We do not have a stick shift car to train in on the street.  There is not enough demand to justify having a stick shift car.

I am 21, am I too old to enter the Maxwell Motorsports & Driving School?

You are too old for us to allow you to take the Teenager Defensive Driving Course, but you can take private lessons.  The price is $75.00 per hour and you can schedule as many hours as you would like.

What do I need to bring to class.

You need to bring a pen or pencil to take notes.  You also need to bring a notebook in which to take notes for class.  You also need to bring your Learner’s permit with you to class.  You also need to know your SSN#.

When is the in-car instruction done during Fall or Spring Sessions?

Depending on your schedule and the availability of our instructors the driving can be done during the 5 week class.  We drive 7 days a week.

When the kids without permits take the state test at Max Maxwell, are they issued a drivers permit there? Do they get something to take to the license facility and then they get their permit? What does the permit test mean and what do they get if they pass this state test taken at Max Maxwell Driving school?

The Learner's Permit is issued at the DMV so you will need to take your child to one of their locations.  Your child will be issued a 3rd party waiver to take to the DMV. This 3rd party waiver shows that the student took the state test with us and passed with a score of 80 or better.

Page 1 / 2 (1 - 50 of 93 Total) Next Page Last Page

Contact Info

Phone: 901-755-6777
Email: Send Email

Street Address Is:

Maxwell Driving School
7777 Walnut Grove Rd.
Memphis, TN 38120

Mailing address is:

Maxwell Driving School
7777 Walnut Grove Rd., Ste. 49
Memphis, TN 38120-2121

The driving school office is open Monday-Friday 10am to 5pm, and is located in the Agricenter International in the second story of Building C. If calling after hours or on weekends, please leave a message and your call will be returned during business hours.